RUSSELL BRAND: NOT ONLY A CRAZY ACTOR/COMEDIAN.

brand1

Just imagine how amazing it must be to sit in the same room as Russell Brand? Ok probably not for Jeremy Paxman.
In an Interview with Jeremy Paxman, and I quote “Russell said; I’ve had an incredible week since I spoke from the heart, some would say via my arse on Paxman”.
That’s something to admire about Russell Brand, what you see is what you get. Your first impression of him might be that his just a crazy, no care star, but guess again, his views on politics and the democratic system is something to think about. “I’ve had slaps on the back, fist bumps, cheers and hugs wile out and about, cock-eyed offers of political power from well-intentioned chancers and some good old fashioned character assassinations in the papers.
“Russell Brand has never voted, because he finds the process irrelevant. I can understand that: the whole green-bench pantomime in Westminster looks a remote and self-important echo chamber. But it is all we have. In one recent election, I decided not to vote, because I thought the choice so unappetising.
“By the time the polls had closed and it was too late to take part, I was feeling really uncomfortable: the person who chooses not to vote – cannot even be bothered to write ‘none of the above’ on a ballot paper – disqualifies himself from passing any comment at all.”

He warned: “We ignore the democratic process at our peril … People died for the right to choose their government, because otherwise power is wielded by the rich and strong for the benefit of the rich and strong. http://www.theguardian.com/media/2013/nov/05/paxman-politics-russell-brand-voting

images

Paxman admitted that he had Low expectations of Russell.
Jeremy Paxman said Russell thinks the wrong people are in charge. Well, perhaps they are. But the people in charge are always people who want to be in charge … I have no burning desire to order people about. Politicians do; that is one of the many reasons they are so odd.”
In the interview, Brand asked Paxman: “Aren’t you bored, aren’t you more bored than anyone? Ain’t you been talking to [politicians] year after year, listening to their lies, their nonsense, then it’s this one gets in, that one gets in, but the problem continues? Why are we going to continue to contribute to that facade?” http://www.theguardian.com/media/2013/nov/05/paxman-politics-russell-brand-voting
Brand, it appears, may have been closer to the truth than he realised.
Russell Brand: my life without drugs;
I say well done! Russell has not used drugs in 10years, he has everything he wants, but temptation is never far away. He wants t help other addicts, but first he wants us to feel compassion for those effected, Russell wants people to start realizing that drug addiction is a health issue and not a criminal one, it’s a disease.
I cannot accurately convey to you the efficiency of heroin in neutralising pain. It transforms a tight, white fist into a gentle, brown wave. From my first inhalation 15 years ago, it fumigated my private hell and lay me down in its hazy pastures and a bathroom floor in Hackney embraced me like a womb.

This shadow is darkly cast on the retina of my soul and whenever I am dislodged from comfort my focus falls there.

It is 10 years since I used drugs or drank alcohol and my life has improved immeasurably. I have a job, a house, a cat, good friendships and generally a bright outlook. http://www.theguardian.com/culture/2013/mar/09/russell-brand-life-without-drugs The mentality and behaviour of drug addicts and alcoholics is wholly irrational until you understand that they are completely powerless over their addiction and unless they have structured help they have no hope.
Russell started a fund within Comic Relief, Give It Up. He wants to raise awareness of, and money for, abstinence-based recovery. After Amy Winehouse died her death had a powerful impact on Russell. “I suppose because it was such an obvious shock, like watching someone for hours through a telescope, seeing them advance towards you, fist extended with the intention of punching you in the face. Even though I saw it coming, it still hurt when it eventually hit me”

There is so much more to Russell Brand, he has this energy about him that every body loves. I can write a book about all the talent he has and his intelligent mind, and unique way of thinking and seeing the world, but for now this will do.
Article by Alicha du plooy

 

Leave a Reply

